Levels of Consciousness


levels of consciousness

How many of these do you have?

I should really lose some weight.

I should look for a new job. This one makes me unhappy.

I should really start eating better.

I should cut back the hours I am working.

I should really figure out what makes me happy and do it more.

My friend Patricia Moreno gave a talk last Thursday to kick of her “Small Steps Lead To Big Changes Program” and she talked about how to change a “should” into inspired “must do” action.

She cited a book I LOVE- Power Verses Force by David Hawkins and his scale of consciousness. The word “should” would definitely land on the Force and not the Power side.

This Introduction to David Hawkins is from Personality Development Theories

David Hawkins (or David R. Hawkins) is a psychiatrist who not only tackled years of clinical experience, but has conducted extensive research. His career spans from 1952 when he earned his MD from The Medical College of Wisconsin (established as Marquette University School of Medicine). In 1995, he also earned his PhD. in Philosophy from Columbia Pacific University. In his lifetime, he has founded and led several research laboratories and clinics.

Levels of Consciousness in “Power VS Force”

The most well known publication of Dr. Hawkins is “Power VS. Force – The Hidden Determinants of Human Behavior” (Hawkins, 2002). In the book, Hawkins extrapolates a hierarchical model of personality development. Hawkins argues that the personality can be described in a scoring system which ranges from 0 to 1000 (0 being the lowest score, 1000 being absolute enlightenment or pure awareness) (Hawkins 2002, 75-85). It is of interest to note that Hawkins argues that objective truth is not only existant, but may be reached and understood by any individual using a technique called kinesiology. By accessing the “Database of Consciousness,” an individual may have questions answered with 100% certainty. His research shows that results are repeatable and accurate (Hawkins 2002, 29-30), regardless of the individual who performs the kinesiologic testing.

Each energy level outlined by Hawkins is extrapolated in the book. These levels of consciousness permeate the individual’s entire perspective and dictate the way they relate to their life experiences. For Hawkins, moving upward into higher states of consciousness is the only way to make meaningful progress in one’s life. Sadly, the average individual only moves up 5 points in their entire lifetime. However, a focused effort to move into higher states can lead to incredible leaps of awareness in relatively short periods of time. Individuals will fluctuate between different points on the scale, but an overall average number can be calculated using kinesiological testing.

Briefly, here are the energy levels outlined by David Hawkins:

20: Shame

30: Guilt

50: Apathy

75: Grief

100: Fear

125: Desire

150: Anger

175: Pride

200: Courage

250: Neutrality

310: Willingness

350: Acceptance

400: Reason

500: Love

540: Joy

600: Peace

700-1000: Enlightenment

Although Hawkins goes into great detail about the various levels of consciousness, he points out two turning points as most crucial.

“On our scale of consciousness, there are two critical points that allow for major advancement. The first is at 200, the initial level of empowerment: Here, the willingness to stop blaming and accept responsibility for one’s own actions, feelings, and beliefs arises – as long as cause and responsibility are projected outside of oneself, one will remain in the powerless mode of victimhood. The second is at the 500 level, which is reached by accepting love and nonjudgemental forgiveness as a lifestyle, exercising unconditional kindness to all persons, things, and events without exception.” (Hawkins 2002, 238).

These two thresholds are primary challenges for many individuals today. Moving beyond them represents a significant barrier which can only be overcome through a significant shift in personality. After moving beyond these realms, progression into increasingly higher states is very natural and less challenging.

Think about it: when someone else says, “Ya know, you should really…,” it’s pretty annoying. So how can it be motivating to be say the same thing to ourselves?

To change those “shoulds” to “musts”, Patricia outlined 3 simple steps:

  1. Figure out why you want to do or have this.
  2. Find your desire and add some fuel to it.
  3. Assume its already happening.

This is just the outline, but you can get access to the entire talk, and 4 weeks of follow-up, which includes all her awesome “how to action steps” including a Should Relief Energy Exercise from me that helps you change a “should” into guided action by turning off a Fight or Flight response in your body, and connecting you to your higher purpose in a matter of minutes! It was so touching for me to witness Patricia and the entire audience have such an amazing reaction from this exercise.

I left the evening feeling touched, moved and inspired!

The follow-up includes a 4 week program to help you live what she talked about – which includes video and audio elements – that will keep you in the game!

So you get the-

  • Recording of the live event
  • 4-weeks follow-up package
  • Live Chat with Patricia for just $50 bucks!

Join me, Patricia, and Terri Cole on this month long actualizing experience.

The deadline for participation is Monday, June 30th.

You can get some purpose, desire and support to transform those shoulds into inspired action that makes shit happen!

Much love, laughter and success,


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

lara riggio

Lara Riggio is an Energy Intuitive. Her videos, classes, and sessions have helped tens of thousands discover and heal the mind/body, ancestral, and past life blocks which sabotage health and happiness. She is based in New York City, and works out of her Central Park Energy Center in Columbus Circle.